Crumbly-Sweet Lemon Loaf

I have been away from the blog world for quite some time as I have been working through my dietetic internship. The internship takes a lot from me so I am so very thankful that I have baking as an outlet. Lately I have been baking up a storm, most recently with this sweet and crumbly lemon loaf that I promise could chase any summertime sadness away!

The downside to all of this baking of course is having loads of sweet treats hanging around my kitchen with a minimal amount of storage space. Stomach storage space that is. 

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

This lemon loaf is just what summer asked for.

And what is that you ask ?

Sweet- lemony goodness of course !

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

I made this recipe gluten-free but regular all-purpose or whole wheat flour could work just as well. My suggestion is to add more lemon zest to the batter. I felt as though the amount that the recipe called for may have been insufficient. Also, I encourage you to try to make this loaf egg free by trying out a Ener-G egg replacer or flax egg as an alternative. Coconut milk would work well as an alternative to the evaporated milk too!

Crumbly-Sweet Lemon Loaf 

Lemon Loaf

1 1/2 cups Bob’s Red Mill all-pupose flour 

1 cup sugar 

1 teaspoon baking powder 

1/2 teaspoon fine salt 

1 5 ounce can of low-fat or 2% evaporated milk

1/3 cup vegetable oil 

2 eggs 

1 1/2 teaspoons lemon zest 

Crumbly Topping 

1/4 cup and 3 tablespoons of Bob’s Red Mill flour

1/4 cup sugar

2 tablespoons unsalted butter – melted

Pinch of salt 

Lemon Glaze

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 tablespoon lemon juice 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

