Banana Sugar Crumb Muffins

Yes, I know… I bake a lot of things with banana. Trust me, I do not have some weird food obsession with bananas or guava for that matter. It just works out that there happens to be ripe bananas that I have neglected to eat with my morning breakfast or as a yummy peanut butter accompaniment.

I cannot help it, but I always worry when I bake something gluten-free and dairy-free. Probably because I kinda just throw in my ingredients add some vegan butter and hope the right consistency arises, which it usually does. I will say that is the fun part about baking for me. Creating something new from scratch and waiting for the final result is one of my favorite parts of the baking process, a very close second to tasting of course.

These muffins are a perfect Sunday paper and morning coffee accompaniment, I am really happy with how they came out. Let me know what y’all think!

 

Banana Crumb Muffins 

1 ½ cups Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon fine salt (I used kosher)

3 Bananas, mashed

1 teaspoon vanilla

¾teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 egg, lightly beaten

1/3 cup canola oil

½ cup granulated sugar

¼ cup packed light brown sugar
(1/2 cup) About handful of chopped walnuts or pecans

 

Sugar Crumb Topping

1/3 cup packed light brown sugar

2 tablespoons Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free all purpose flour

¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 tablespoon EarthBalance Soy Free blend vegan butter

 

For the Muffins:

Begin by preheating your oven to 375 degrees F. Lightly grease your muffin pan or line with muffin cups. You may use the vegan spread to grease or a little canola oil works just as well.

Use a large bowl to mix together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set it aside.

In another medium bowl, add the bananas and mash them to almost tapioca pudding consistency. Add the egg, sugars and canola oil and mix.

Add the banana mixture into the flour bowl until just incorporated. Use a spoon to measure the batter into the muffin pan.

 

For the SugarCrumb Topping:

In a small bowl, mix together the brown sugar, about two tablespoons GF flour and ground cinnamon. Add about 1 tablespoon of the vegan butter spread and use your hands to mix everything together. The mixture should look clumpy. Spinkle on top the unbaked muffins to the amount you desire.

Bake the muffins for 18-20 minutes until a knife or toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

